Practice Cards – Beginners Sequence


This set of five practice cards show an abbreviated form of the Primary Series of Ashtanga Yoga movement by movement and breath by breath  so that it is easy to follow if you’re new to Ashtanga Yoga. The cards will help you learn and memorise the sequence and enable you to establish a consistent yoga practice at home.



With these practice cards you can establish a consistent yoga practice at home.

The set consists of five cards which show detailed pictures of every movement in their specific order. Every posture as well as the movements that link the postures together are shown breath by breath and easy to follow.

  1. Opening and Closing Chants
  2. Sun Salutations
  3. Standing Sequence
  4. Abbreviated Seated Sequence
  5. Abbreviated Finishing Sequence

How do I practice with these cards?

These practice cards should help you memorize and learn the Ashtanga Yoga Primary Series in the tradition of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. They do not substitute the teaching and guidance of a qualified yoga teacher but should serve as a memory aid and help to establish a yoga practice at home.

As opposed to the Complete Primary Series Practice Cards, the sequence shown on these cards is an abbreviated form of the Ashtanga Yoga Primary Series. The sequence is shown in more details. The pictures depict not  only the postures on both sides but also the transitions and movements inbetween breath by breath. This way these cards are more suitable and easier to follow if you are just starting your journey of Ashtanga Yoga.

The Primary Series is also known as Yoga Chikitsa (engl. Yoga Therapy). It is a progressive sequence of postures that will gradually help you gain strength and flexibility, establish a basic symmetry in the body and help you attain overall health and well-being.